St. John's Vestry

The vestry at St. John's Episcopal Church is the administrative body of the church which is elected by and then represents the Parish. Nine members make up this governing body of which includes a Rector's Warden and Parish Warden. The Rector's Warden is appointed annually by the Priest and serves as the vestry chairperson in his absence. The Parish Warden is elected annually by the vestry and is responsible for the oversight of building and grounds. In addition, there are several appointed positions which may be recommended by the Rector and must be voted on by members of the vestry. These positions include the clerk, treasurer and financial director. Unless otherwise elected to this governing body, these positions shall not be voting members. Vestry members are elected at the annual parish meeting held January of each year. Elected members serve a three-year term of office. Meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month following the 6:00 p.m. Eucharist service, unless otherwise indicated. The Rector presides over all meetings.

The vestry is primarily responsible for church property including all assets. In addition, they approve the annual budget and authorize major purchases. In the event that a new priest is needed, the vestry makes this call with the bishop's approval. In addition, the Vestry meets to discuss, reflect and take action on the many important aspects of Parish life. They also serve as an advisory council to the rector.


Expire in 2015Expire in 2016Expire in 2017
Melinda Chadwick
Robert Ellison
John Byler
Ronnie Gillespie
Melissa Rhodes
Christine Gregory
Harley Hicks
Charla Robb
Kenneth Jordan




Rector's Warden:  Mindy Chadwick

Parish Warden:  Ronnie Gillespie

Clerk of the Vestry: Hye Seung Byler

Financial Director: Robert Ellison

Treasurer: John Byler

Back To Our Ministries